

IACO 2020 County Official of the Year

Deadline for Submission: 4:30pm on Friday, June 4, 2021

P	revious Winners
1990	Terry Desmond County Clerk
1991	Chris Martin
1992	Treasurer Nelson Hagnauer County Board
1993	Bonnie Barton Sup. of Assessment
1994	John Novak Treasurer
1995	Bobby Myers Treasurer
1996	Steve Sonnemaker
1997	Auditor Barbara Gross
1998	County Clerk Lynn Reed
1999	Coroner Shirley Booker
2000	Treasurer Becky Kramer County Clerk
2001	Nancy Krumwiede Treasurer
2002	Bill Underwood
2003	Coroner Tom Ross Auditor
2004	Joel Kegan Circuit Clerk
2005	Kirby Ballard Treasurer
2006	Betty Coffrin
2007	Clerk/Recorder Tony Cox
2008	Coroner Ron White
2009	County Board Jeff Simpson
2010	Sup. of Assessment Lindi Kernan
2011	Sup. of Assessment Bruce Troutman
2012	County Treasurer Victoria J. Harper
2013	County Treasurer Dave Dobill
2014	Clerk/Recorder Wendy Ryerson
2015	Sup. of Assessment Bruce Clark
2016	County Clerk Gina Noe

Circuit Clerk

Cindy Braden

Circuit Clerk

Tom Cavanagh

County Treasurer

Mark Armstrong
Sup. of Assessment

2017

2018

Each year the IACO recognizes an outstanding county government official who best demonstrates our mission of improving the quality of county government through education, promoting responsible public policy, and providing ethical service while maintaining a high standard of performance. This form is intended to facilitate the selection process by providing biographical information of each candidate. All nomination forms must be received by the deadline in order to be considered.

Purpose and Criteria: The purpose of the Illinois Association of County Officials' County Official of the Year Award is to recognize a county government official or employee who has demonstrated a commitment to excellence in county government both within his or her own community and on a regional or statewide level. This distinction will be made each year to one person representative of the high ideals embraced by the Illinois Association of County Officials, (IACO).

Eligibility: Any elected or appointed official or employee of a IACO member county is eligible. Current members of the IACO Board of Directors are ineligible to receive the award.

Award: The results will be kept secret until the Fall Conference. At the Tuesday Evening Banquet, the award will be presented to one individual who has made significant contributions through their service.

Nominator Responsibility: In most instances nominations will come from the nominees affiliate organization. The nominator is expected to ensure that the nominee is at the Fall Conference Banquet to receive the award. It is not however required that the nomination come from the nominees affiliate organization. The Veterans for instance may nominate a candidate from the Coroner's, but such a nomination would require considerable research by the Veterans to understand the position of Coroner and prepare a nomination that can compete with other nominees. It would be better for the Veterans to contact the Coroners and seek support for the potential nominee.

Selection Process: The selection of the County Official of the Year is a difficult process – due in large part because of the high quality of the candidates. Our overall goal is to establish a process that results in a fair selection with as minimal bias as possible. The members of the committee all represent an affiliate organization – and it is natural that we would support the individual nominated from our own affiliate – if for no other reason than we are most familiar with the service and dedication of that individual. So our goal was to minimize that bias to the extent possible and streamline the application process.

Here is the selection process that we have used since 2009.

- 1) Any currently serving county official (at the time of nomination) will be considered for the award. Individuals that have resigned or retired earlier in the year are not eligible. (The Board noted the IACO President can at any time recognize an individual with a "President's Award".)
- 2) To minimize the inherent bias of committee members (supporting the candidate from their own affiliate organization) the Board approved a selection process currently being used by another national organization:
 - a) Each IACO Awards Committee member is responsible for selecting a "judge" from outside the IACO membership, such as a local judge, state official, or community leader. Contact information for the judge is forwarded to the Awards Committee Chairperson.
 - b) Nominations are forwarded to these judges directly from the Awards Committee Chairperson along with a scoring sheet. (Committee members do not receive the applications.)
 - c) Judges rank the nominees in several categories based on the merits of the application and forward the scoring sheets back to the Chairperson.
 - d) The Chairperson tallies the scores and announces the winner at the Fall IACO Conference.
- 3) Use of a standardized application
- 4) Use of a standardized scoring sheet for use by judges

The official nomination form and supporting materials must be received by 4:30pm on Friday, June 4, 2021



IACO 2020 County Official of the Year

Deadline for Submission: 4:30pm on Friday, June 4, 2021

The Illinois Association of County Officials "County Official of the Year" Award is given annually to individuals who have contributed to the betterment of county government in a manner above and beyond what is expected in their everyday duties. It is not a longevity award, but recognition of significant contributions to their county government and county government in general.

Title (within affiliate	organization):
Email Addres	55.
	J
unty government:	Number of years in current position:

Please attach a biography of the Candidate (limit up to 1000 words) which demonstrates his/her overall professionalism and dedication to county government, specifically highlighting the following:

- 1. Service and leadership in their respective county, including improvements or efficiencies in the operation of nominees own office or local jurisdiction;
- Service and leadership within their respective affiliate organization, including positions held within the affiliate organization, and years of participation;
- 3. Service and leadership within their communities;
- 4. Dedication to continuing education;
- 5. Service and leadership with other affiliate organizations, including IACO.

This form is intended to facilitate the selection process by providing biographical information of each candidate. All nomination forms must be received by the deadline in order to be considered. The official nomination form and supporting materials must be received by 4:30pm on Friday, June 4, 2021 by mail, e-mail (pdf format only), or fax to:

Bobbi Rairden, Awards Committee Chair

Douglas County Treasurer PO Box 320, Tuscola, IL 61953 Phone: 217-253-4011; Fax: 217-253-2590 bobbi.rairden@douglascountyil.com